What are we encouraging?

For the record... it is NOT ok to call either woman gross. I do believe however, that it is time to stop encouraging women to continue engaging in unhealthy lifestyles. Encouraging people to workout, eat clean and live at a healthy weight should not be considered 'fat shaming'. Both 'fat shaming' and 'fit shaming' must end.

Neither ‘fit shaming’ nor ‘fat shaming’ are acceptable. Neither woman pictured is, ‘gross’. The woman on the left could be just as addicted to exercise as the woman on the right could be to food (however I am not accusing either woman of anything). One thing is certain, however… I am much less concerned about the woman on the left developing chronic and long term illness than I am the woman on the right. Not JUST because of her weight, but more so because of what is in the food she is eating that helped her to gain all that weight.

I was watching, Steve Harvey the other day and he was promoting the ‘curvy’ figure. Curvy, in many instances these days, has become the buzz word for women who are not built like Eva Mendez but who are either borderline obese, obese, or morbidly obese. ‘Curvy’ models, ‘curvy’ fashion, etc., etc. I believe this is a dangerous and potentially deadly trend.

I know what it is like to to have fashion models that look like me and clothes that do not fit. While I have struggled to find plus size clothes, I have had to deal with a double whammy my whole life. I am taller than the average woman. Not only do I need plus sized clothes, I need clothes cut for a tall woman. Think; size 20 pants with a 36″ inseam. I know first hand how women who do not fit the fashion stereotype feel left out. Our clothes are splashy and oddly colored. Where are MY solid colored sheath dresses? Yes, all ladies should have an opportunity to dress well. However, there is a big difference between having more clothing options, and promoting… even celebrating obesity.

I want to help those of you who are seeking a healthier lifestyle. It is not about looking like the woman on the left, or the woman on the right. It is about getting to, and maintaining a healthy weight so that you can maneuver through life without pain, chronic diseases, and/or embarrassment. Stop letting the media run your life… in either direction. We do not let them tell you emaciated is the new thin but nor do we accept their lies that being at too high of an unhealthy weight is to be celebrated.

